Cyber Essentials (in the UK) is a government-backed scheme for organisations of all types and sizes to help protect themselves against the most common forms of cyber attack. The scheme was first launched in 2014 and offers industry-recognised certification options supported by Accreditation Bodies.



The new website which was recently launched by the National Cyber Security Centre aims to help organisations stay secure online, and provides clear and simple guidance to improve basic cyber security based on five technical controls.

Cyber Essentials consists of two levels of certification:

  • Cyber Essentials (basic): This offers a self-assessment option which offers protection against five ‘essential’ technical controls; and
  • Cyber Essentials Plus: This is an enhanced accreditation, which ensures the same protections are in place, but verification of this is carried out by an independent body.

Certification demonstrates to an organisation’s customers, or prospective customers, that cyber security is taken seriously and meets the standards set out in the Cyber Essentials scheme. In the last year, over 5,000 certificates have been awarded to organisations.

The website also includes a brand-new database of organisations that have had systems certified under the Cyber Essentials scheme in the last year. This helps provide reassurance to customers who can now validate their supply chain credentials in one place.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.